top of page
Search

Earth's Voice - By Thee Sim Ling



I hear your incessant words as I wake admonishing me for leaving the lights on the whole night what’s up with that, planet earth? I Don’t Care that is the motto engraved in my heart that is my mantra I always stand by climate change is a hoax global warming is a scam I will not be taken in by your evil bamboozle, planet your small voice echoes in my head irritating vexatious tiresome easily ignored amid the swish of the running tap as I brush my teeth your voice is at is lowest in the early hours of the day but it grows and GROWS as the bitter boomer in you watch me go about my day no reusables but plastic bags no small portions but buffets worthy of brags no low-class bus on the morning route but a oil-guzzling private jet at Parking Bay B no laws on “sustainability” but great ways to get profitability prods of advice to shouts of rage your voice rises to a thunderous gale silent sniffles to torturous wails your tears form ravines on your face it is getting harder to ignore I cannot take it anymore this is my act of defiance plug in my earphones and enjoy your silence the day is coming to an end it seems you have failed in your plan your meaningless words have no effect day turns to night I grin in triumph I stare into the bedroom mirror I have succeeded screaming all day you must be tired I crawl into bed assured I will have a good night’s rest yet… no matter how much I try... still at night i hear you speak still at night i hear you weep








The poem belongs to the author and the author only. Please don't copy it!! It's their original piece!






Cover page by Brianna Paulino

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page