top of page
Search

I Am A Shoe - By Skye Cabrera

Updated: Sep 5, 2021


I am a shoe. I am a shoe. I am a shoe.


I live a jolly good life as a shoe. I'm famous around the store, everybody wants me and envies me. A perfect life is one that I lead. Nobody can dare say that my life is anything short of perfect. I am beautiful, intelligent, kind, and every single good adjective a person can think of! Everybody talks about how great I am, about how pretty my heels are, and how bright my shoe shine is.


But...sometimes I feel out of place, compared to the...others.


I look over to the other side of the store.


“The purses…” I sigh to myself. “They're sturdy, big, strong, and better.”


I look at them...and I want to be them.


...


No, I'll take it back! I can't think that way. I am a shoe and will forever be a shoe.


My eyes linger back. “I envy them so much…”


Stop. I shouldn't do this. I'm the perfect shoe, I will always be the perfect shoe, and there’s nothing I can do to change that. My head spins...as if it doesn't believe a word I say.


I'm a shoe. I'm a shoe. I'm a shoe?





The story belongs to the author and the author only. All credit belongs to them. Please don't copy it!! It's their original piece!






Cover page by Yifei Wang




48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page