top of page
Search

Rat In Hiding - By Brianna Paulino


“Hey, she’s requesting you.”

I turned in the direction of the source’s voice. It was, of course, coming from one of the guards, majestically sporting their bulletproof glory. The guards of “her”, the leader of this corrupted land.

I made eye contact with the guard and nodded in response. They slightly nodded back and motioned for me to follow them. I put my paperwork onto my desk and stared at the photograph of my family that is taped onto the surface of it. It’s a requirement to do that, just in case, anything unfortunate happens to me.

As I walk away from my desk, following the footsteps of the guard, something has been dropped onto my shoulders, causing walking to be a bit of a task. Being called by Miss Flora definitely isn’t something I would look forward to. Having a history of ruling the entire land under a strict fist, she always has this perfectionist mindset. Always wants things to be her exactly how she pictures it, regardless of the disapproval of society.

Does she have a single care in the world? Absolutely not.

Does she have the heart to be shown? Might be impossible in my case.

I’ve been working with her officials for almost the entirety of my life.

By force, unfortunately.

If the opportunity to leave is right before my eyes, I would’ve grasped it and held it dearly close to me. However, it’s impossible to grasp something when you’re trapped in the palm of her hand.

Saying that I’m terrified of her is an understatement. I absolutely loathe her. I despise all the horrible policies she implements just so she could have her pretty perfect picture to life. I despise how cold she acts toward the people around her.

How disgusting it is…

As we approach closer to the extravagant red velvet door leading to her office, I tune out all of the negative thoughts floating around my head. I stood straight, held my head high, and plastered the best professional smile I could do. Like a switch, my view of her was the complete opposite. Of course, it’s all a facade, one of the most important things to be alive nowadays.

The security guard knocked on the door as loud as they could.

“Proceed.” The sound of that bitter voice ran a shiver down my back. Disgust is all I could feel, however, I tried to mask those feelings away.

The guard twisted the golden doorknob and pushed the door open, causing a loud creaking noise. We both stepped through the doorway. Even though the interior is quite big, it’s incredibly bare. Nothing to cover the marble floor or dark walls. The only thing that catches the eye immediately is the enormous windows filling the light of the room, a blazing fireplace, a plain expensive couch, many portraits circling around of unfamiliar people, and of course, the image in front of us. A brown desk that’s the size of a dining table, two leather chairs in front of it, and a lady with long brunette hair.

“Thank you very much, Emerson, you’re excused.” She said, the guard nodded and excused themselves from the room, causing the door to close with a loud bang.

I averted my eyes away from the door and faced her with a smile.

“Hello ma’am, I hope the day is giving you much happiness,” I said forcefully. “Is there any need for me to be summoned here?”

She nodded. “I wish my day could be how you described it,” she said with such worry in her voice. “Please, sit down.” She offered me one of the leather chairs. I nodded and sat down on it. Better than any chair I have ever sat in.

“Is there a reason you sound so down, madame?” I asked with concern. Even though, internally, I couldn’t find single care in the world.

She folded her hands and placed them on her chin as her elbows touched the surface of her desk. I looked into her eyes and noticed they weren’t filled with blue. They were glowing red. They are staring directly at me.

I internally panicked. As I waited for her to gather her thoughts, I was scrambling to find mine. Trying to figure out what on earth I have done to be stared down by those menacing eyes?

It couldn’t be because I took two lunch entrees the other day, which is strictly forbidden. It definitely couldn’t be the time I’ve done one of my coworker’s assignments. They were falling behind, I just had to.

I hope she didn’t find out what I’ve been doing these past couple of years...I would’ve been dead by now if she found out.

Maybe...that’s why I’m here?

This will be the end of me. I thought to myself.

She sighed, “I have unfortunate news to share with you…. there are rats within this building.” Her voice was entirely sharp, I could feel it piercing through my ears. The aura of anger was definitely growing within her, I definitely felt it around her.

I gasped with fright. Not because of the news, I already knew that.

It’s because I am one of them.

I felt a bit hot after she mentioned that. A bit too hot. I hoped that she wouldn’t notice the nervousness growing around me.

“Rats?” I finally spoke. “As in, spies within here?”

She nodded. “Exactly…”

She stayed silent for a few. The entire time, all she did was stare at me, with those cold glowing eyes. I tried my best to not show any sign of worry, however, it was a task. I could feel the sweat from my head, slowly dripping down. My heart began to beat uncontrollably, it could be heard from the silence of the room.

Those few seconds felt like an entirety.

“I want you to do something for me,” she finally spoke up, filling the room with sound. “Will you be up for it?”

I hesitated for a bit. “Wh..what would you like me to do?”

Going through one of her drawers, she took out a piece of paper. She slid the paper across the table, stopping exactly in front of me. I eyed it to see what exactly it was. It looked like a map. A map that looked too familiar…

“See this map, correct?” she pointed at it in front of me.

As my response, I just silently nodded.

“This map is proven to be one of the hideouts of those rebellion fiends...I’ve received information that one of those rats is there right now, as we speak.”

“Wow...that’s interesting.” I was silently worried, but I don’t think she even noticed. She never pays close attention to what others around her are feeling. “Just out of curiosity, how did you find out about the rebels?”

She smiled so sweetly. Yet there was a tinge of evil. “That’s classified information, Quinn dear. What I want you to do is capture them. Since you’re training to be one of the top assassins of my personal squad, this will be your first official mission. This could either make or break you. You’re going with my guards and with your instructor, Sawyer.”

“You want me to go there, madame?” I asked for clarification.

“Yes. Hunt down that traitor and bring them back to me,” she replied. “Alive.”

The last word that came out of her echoed in the room. Ringing not only in the empty room but in my ears.

I nodded with reassurance and gave her a confident smile.

“Understood.”

She gave me that infamous smile...sweet, yet a bit sinister in it. Might seem like an angel, but she has always been in hell.

“Fantastic. Glad you agreed so quickly because you’re starting now.” She pointed her fingers towards the door, as a way for me to get going. I nodded.

I stood up from the leather chair and made my way toward the door. As my hand touches the golden handle, she made one last statement.

“Remember. Alive.”

“Yes, madame,” I replied.

I opened the door and left the room.


…………………


I looked towards the left window in the limousine as the other security guards chatted along. Either about how they would hunt down the rebels or how their day is going by. I couldn’t care less about their pointless conversations. All that I cared about was a plan.

A plan to get them out of there. All of them out. The newbies, the pros, the leaders, everyone. If they find either Parker or Adriana there, I know they’re going to capture every single person. Regardless of their primary goal, they want everyone.

As I tried to sort my thoughts, a new one came into my mind, ready to disorganize all of them.

What if they are looking for me... and I’m leading them to the end?

Out of nowhere, it felt as if the temperature rose up a bit, causing me to sweat. Imagining if I’m the cause of many deaths...it’ll eat me until I’m nothing. I closed my eyes tightly, my forehead up against the window. I felt its coldness, as it tried to cool me down a bit.

“Quinn, are you alright?” I felt a hand touching my shoulder.

I flinched at the touch, causing chills to run up my spine. I turned and noticed the hand belonged to Sawyer. He had a concerned look on his face. I nodded without saying a word.

“Nervous since it’s your first actual mission, right?” He asked.

I scoffed. “Isn’t it obvious? My first mission and revolves around those fiends... of course, I’d be nervous. Miss Flora would be extremely distraught if the mission ended in failure.”

Sometimes, lying could be my very best friend. Even if it takes me to an endless whirlpool, I appreciated it at times.

“Well, don’t sweat it, kid!” Sawyer exclaimed. “After the numerous times I’ve seen you in training, you got this. It’s just like capturing those newbie trainees, nothing to worry about.”

Sawyer handed me a dart gun that fits snugly in the palm of my hand. I examined it and felt its ridges. I touched the liquid that was in the gun’s glass container and could tell there was poison in it. I tapped on the glass, admiring its green liquid.

“Cool, right? We finally got those poison dart guns I’ve been gushing about!” He raised his dart gun to the car roof, acting like it was his prized possession.

“What does the poison do though?” I asked.

He replied, “All it does is make the person faint for a few minutes. Easy for capturing those rebels and taking them to our lady.” He gave me a bright smile.

I could sense the pride within him. No doubt about it, I admire him. He worked extremely hard just to please that she-devil. All his talents are wasted for a cause that won’t benefit any of us.

As I looked down at my dart gun, an idea struck my head. That’s when, finally, after all of that thinking, I had a plan.

I turned to the other guards and noticed they were all armed. As I turned to the window, I realized we were on a familiar street. A very familiar street.

We’re almost to the hideout.

“We’re almost there!” Sawyer called out to everyone in the vehicle.

It may look like a regular house but before it, is the door to rebel group number five. Not every rebel is there, just that group.

As the car slowly parks on the other side of the road, Sawyer motioned everyone to leave the car. One of the guards opened the door as quickly as they could. One by one, all the ten guards evacuated the car. Sawyer grabbed his bag, most likely for the other advanced weapons he brought. He went out of the car, carrying that burden of a bag.

I went out of the car, following behind Sawyer. Trying to act as the first timer, I stayed behind Sawyer as a frightened child.

As we rushed down the street to get to the hideout, Sawyer turned around and noticed me hiding behind his shoulder. I tried my very best to act as afraid as I could. That way, they wouldn’t know what would hit them.

He turned to his shoulder and gave me a concerned smile.

“Quinn, be strong. If you keep acting like this, this might be your first AND last mission. You don’t know what tricks are up their sleeves.” he said.

You don’t know what tricks are up my sleeves.

I let out a false sigh. “Alright fine... I’ll go in front if that’s alright.”

Sawyer gave me the brightest smile that I’ve ever seen, almost guilting me.

I gave him a smile back, a sad one to be exact. I scrambled up front, acting as the line leader of the group. Motioning them to the door to the hideout, I could hear the chitter-chatter behind the doors.

As my hand slowly touches the door handle, one guard pushed me to the side. I could hear how impatient they’d been, probably wanting to see blood splatter all around.

With a loud bang, they kicked the door down, causing it to crash to the floor. Surprisingly, I didn’t hear any frightened screams, just surprised gasps.

“In the name of Madame Flora, you are all under arrest for rebelling our Lady!” Sawyer screamed out at the top of his lungs. “Surround now and no blood will be spilled. I repeat, surround now and no blood will be spilled!”

The rebels raised up their hands. One by one, without hesitation. I smiled at this.

The guards went up to them. Holding their arms and making sure they do nothing suspicious. Handcuffs, ready to catch them.

No one picked up a fight. It looked like they just accepted it all. Or so we made them think. I could feel something wicked within me.

Sawyer laughed maniacally at it all. “Good god. This is too easy! And I thought this was going to be a challenge!” Sawyer turned to me, laughing, trying to catch my attention.

I gave him a smug smile…

….As I injected the dart filled with poison into him.

His eyes widened as he stared right into mine. The smile slowly erases from him, replacing it with disbelief. I narrowed my eyebrows and came closer to him.

“In the name of the people, you should’ve used your influential talents on something else...not a selfish dictator,” I whispered in his ears.

I plopped his body onto the floor.

Like that, he was asleep. Still alive, but asleep. Surprisingly, the guards didn’t even pay attention to the sudden thud. Not even a single glance. They were still paying attention to the rebels.

“You know what, I’m done with this charade.” yelled out a female voice.

Like that, a voice cried out in pain, and a crack echoed through the room. I turned to the source of the voice and noticed a guard laying on the ground, clenching their arm. I looked up from them and saw a young woman smiling at what she had done.

Wearing her ponytail, tank top, and sweatpants, Robin gave me a smile. I returned it back. She grabbed the dart gun that belonged to the guard, wincing in excruciating pain. Instantly, she injected it into them. Like that, they fully dropped to the ground.

The other guards finally took notice of the complete fiasco that was happening before their eyes. One by one, they start shooting at the other rebels. However, they all kept on avoiding it.

Left, right, up, down. Not a single hit on the majority of them.

One, two, three. The darts fell to the ground as they kept on missing their targets.

As the number of darts slowly diminished, the guards noticed that they had no more to attack.

That’s when fists began to get involved….


…………………


The wind blew through my hair; I sprinted down the streets.

As I ran, the sound of heavy breathing filled my ears as the other members of the rebellion group number 5 ran along.

Our eyes were pointed toward a truck that was across the street.

“Nice work there, Quinn!” squealed out Robin. She stood next to me, giving me a smile filled with pride. “Just as we plan! Not only did we protect Adriana, but we protected you!”

“Thanks... I just wonder how Flora knew about Adriana...” I said as I slowed down. The others rushed up to the truck, almost reaching it. As I looked at them rushing down, I saw Parker’s eyes taking a quick glance at me. He turned away as quickly as he could.

I gasped and slowed down from running.

I tried to catch my breath and noticed that Robin was still standing right next to me. I looked at her and raised my eyebrow.

“Do you think there might be a rat here?” she asked with coldness in her voice. “With us?”

“Maybe…” I whispered. “I don’t know who it could be since there are five of us that work for the rebellion and are spying on her government.”

“Whoever it is...we have to keep a close eye on those others....” Robin whispered to me.

I nodded at her.

We started walking, trying to catch up to the vehicle that everyone else was in.

Then, as I was paying too much attention to reach my goal, Robin suddenly winced in pain.

“Damn it!” Robin cried.

She suddenly collapsed to the concrete floor, hard with a thud while accidentally hitting my arm.

I shivered and gasped with fright as I saw her motionless body lying there beside me. I turned around and noticed Sawyer standing behind me. His figure felt ominous as he stood there without moving a muscle as he glared at me.

My eyes widened with surprise.

He gave me a smug smile...a smile that seems so similar to imitate.

“Quinn…” he said in a serious tone of voice. “You’ve done an impressive job…” I looked at him with confusion, wondering why the hell would he find what I’d done to him impressively.

Then he pushed me with such a steady force. Losing my balance, I hit hard onto the concrete ground. The wind didn’t help me at all.

“What did you do that for!?” I yelled at him. That’s such an idiotic thing to say...

He eyed me with confusion and then laughed at me. Mocking me, as it seems.

I felt a bit offended.

He walked closer to me as I could hear his boots pounding left and right. His face blocks the bright sun above me; I wouldn’t even want to see his appearance at all in the first place.

Bending down to reach me, he spits in my face without hesitation.

I was instantly disgusted as those droplets hit me with such force.

“Good thing I gave you the darts with the poison that doesn’t last…” he said to me.

Then, within an instant, he grabbed my head and slammed it to the floor.

I cried out in pain.

He laughed, “Wonder how Miss Flora would react to this, dear Quinn?”

 

About The Author

Brianna(she/her) is a dedicated and determined high school student with a strong passion for creative writing and helping others. She’s the founder of The Cleverly Creatives and has contributed to various organizations by publishing her creative work. Not only that, but her hobbies also include crocheting, creative writing, graphic design, planning school + community events, listening to music, and reading romance novels/mangas!

 

Cover page by Seeun Kim Editing by Poorna Prakash



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page