top of page
Search

The Girl On The Platform - By Devarshi K. Borah


I had embarked on a train to the Hills,

Instead of working a day job in the mills,

With the reasoning that if time truly kills,

I’d much rather fritter it away watching the rills,

Fondling over Nature’s stills,

And enjoying other such cheap thrills.


That was not a while ago,

Yet now, that brevity of mine

I could not find,

Just like the redness around the elbow.


Just then, without an aforementioned why or when,

The train halts,

Disrupting my state of Zen.

The train has had erstwhile faults, I would vent,

Yet as a canary calls, I still gather up my shawls,

And look out of the window small,

To find a girl on the platform,

In the break of Fall.


The brisk Autumn wind

Bristled against the Reds of the maples it thinned,

As both of our eyes twinned.


A layover of ten minutes

Felt like a sojourn for Eternity,


Spend it over a cup of coffee

She asked of me out of conformity.

Yet as she handed me one over the window,

I couldn’t help but wonder

If it was something more than courtesy, though.


As I sipped through its meandering chaffs,

I couldn’t help but admire the way she laughs,

As her cheeks ripen

To the shade of these Autumn leaves,

The heavens blessing us perhaps,

With the shafts of Autumn sun it always retrieves.


As I sunk deeper and deeper

Into those sweet eyes,

I couldn’t help but wonder

If this was truly a worthy compromise.


Alas, all things must pass,

And just as I relished the final dregs of the glass,

My sojourn was but a thing of the past.


As the train ceased to tarry,

I was forced to parry,

The rush of emotions this fallout carried.


Notwithstanding the train slowly distancing itself from the platform,

And my vision of her being all but gone,

There was still, in me, a hint of hope,


That this was more than just a wayfaring stranger

Falling sweet on a random exchanger,

In the former’s misadventure.


The rest, I confide,

Is for fate to decide.






The poem belongs to the author and the author only. Please don't copy it!! It's their original piece!




Cover page by Belen Cardoza


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page