top of page
Search

The Photograph - By Brianna Paulino



I’m your old photograph

I used to be a wonderful memory that you kept by your heart

You and I, we were never apart

All those photos we made when we were young

Made me hoped that our friendship light would stay strong

You would replay that memory over and over

Never stopping, always continuing


As the years go by, you forgot about me

You don’t even remember having that memory that used to be everything

You put me away, in an old, filthy, scratched up album

Along with the other forgotten, scratched up photographs

You put me in a box

Stored away, never to be seen again

Along with the other forgotten, filthy albums


I used to be in that beautiful, clean picture frame

The one you made with your heart

Now, another photograph is there, it’s tearing me apart

A new photograph that’s superior and memorable than me


The more photographs you get,

The more forgotten I become

Making these memories fade away

But, why am I worrying about this?

I do the same to you


I get new photographs

I get new albums

I stray away from the early albums

It’s been years since I’ve seen that album...


Nevertheless, I still go back to it

I never threw you out and never will

You’re a part of me, no matter what

Will we go back to our old ways though?

We will never know

Or maybe some photographs aren’t meant to be in the same album

together


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page