top of page
Search

Thoughts About Him - By Juhi Ghosh




Sitting on the window seat, I watched the raindrops on the window. I took a sip of the chocolate chip Frappuccino I bought from the small cafe near the city library. I was finally returning home after a long day. The sun had set down, and people getting on and off the bus didn’t seem very fascinating to me. I was busy watching the rain fall.


Some people love rain while others don’t. Some love the smell of it. They say it makes them happy. On the other hand, some say that they don’t like getting wet. It indicates sadness. But for me? I don’t know how to feel about it. It gives me mixed feelings. There was a time when rain made me happy because of him. The rain reminded me of pleasant memories which now belonged to the past. Things have changed now.


Two months back, my ex-boyfriend and I broke up over the phone. The reason, up to this day, is still unknown to me. I only received a text message ── “We’re breaking up.” Yup, that was it. Since then, we haven’t talked. I tried contacting him several times but received no replies. His house was far from mine. I went there to demand a proper answer, always to find a locked door. I had no idea whether the lock was there to keep me away or if he wasn’t home.


We shared a lovely bond. We had been together for three years. Long time, wasn’t it?

Three years back, while we were camping (our first ever trip), it started raining. That couldn’t have gone worse right? But guess what? That was the best day of my life, the day I had my first kiss. Instead of returning to the tent, we danced in the rain to the slow music he played on his phone. That was one of our memories. We shared other memories associated with rain too.


Ah, I got lost in his thoughts again! I’ve never been able to forget him. Not when I didn’t even receive a proper breakup text. I can’t seem to make out what went wrong. Was it me? Was I not good enough? Ever since then, such self-deprecating thoughts have approached me. Since then, I have gotten lost in thoughts often during the day. Thoughts about him.


 

About The Author

Juhi is a high school sophomore from India who has a passion for writing and reading. Besides that, she also enjoys playing the guitar and solving math problems.

 

Cover page by Yifei Wang

Editing by Shannon Barboza

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page